Boscastle

Boscastle Harbour auf der Nord-Küste Cornwalls
Boscastle Harbour von den Klippen
Boote in Boscastle Harbour
Harbour bei Flut
Boote in Boscastle Harbour bei Ebbe gestrandet
Boote bei Ebbe
Napoleon Inn in Boscastle
Napoleon Inn
Cobweb Inn in Boscastle
Cobweb Inn
Die Druse Strand in der Nähe Boscastle
Die Druse
Forrabury Kirche in Boscastle an der Küste
Forrabury Kirche
Minster Kirche in Boscastle
Minster Kirche
Lesnewth Kirche
Lesnewth Kirche
The Celtic Wegkreuz am Lesnewth Kirche
Lesnewth Wegkreuz
St Juliot Kirche
St Juliot Kirche
Path to St Juliot Kirche
Path to St Juliot Kirche

Die steilen Tal des Flusses Valency bildet einen geschützten Naturhafen Boscastle. Sowie ein Fischerhafen war Boscastle einmal einen kleinen Hafen (ähnlich wie viele andere an der Nordküste von Cornwall) importieren Kalkstein und Kohle sowie den Export Schiefer und anderen lokalen Produkten.

Der Name Boscastle aus Bottreaux Castle aus dem 12. Jahrhundert Festung der de Botterells, von denen wenig bleibt nun abgeleitet. Wenn Sie zu Fuß die Einbahnstraße (Old Road), an der Post vorbei und folgen Sie ein Schild direkt hinter dieser auf der linken Seite können bis einen Pfad zu der alten Burganlage, die mindestens eine gute Sicht über das Dorf ist und den Hafen.

Es gibt einen großen Parkplatz mit WC, einige Geschäfte und mehrere Pubs und ein Café am Hafen in einem ehemaligen Sardinen Keller. Boscastle der 50 Jahre alte Museum of Witchcraft ist das größte seiner Art in der Welt. Es war schwer von der Flut im Jahr 2004 beschädigt, aber wurde vollständig restauriert.

Die Boscastle Flut im Jahr 2004

Der steile Valency Tal fungierte als eine Art Trichter für die dramatische Sturzflut im Jahr 2004, die Boscastle angelegt (und fast wischte sie) die Karte, die vermutlich durch die verursacht worden ist Brown Willy-Effekt . Über 1,4 Milliarden Liter regen fiel im Laufe von 2 Stunden. Rund 50 Autos in den Hafen gefegt wurden, wurde die Brücke weggeschwemmt und Straßen wurden unter 9ft Wasser getaucht. Insgesamt 91 Menschen wurden bei dem größten Friedenszeiten Rettungsaktion jemals in Großbritannien ins Leben gerufen gerettet.

Pubs in Boscastle

Boscastle hat 3 Pubs, die jeweils mit viel Charakter:

  • The Cobweb Inn , gegenüber dem Parkplatz - zuvor einen Weinkeller und Mehllagers aus den späten 1600er Jahren hat es traditionell immer schon Spinnweben hingen von den Dachbalken. Anscheinend wurde gedacht, um Fliegen fernzuhalten gespeicherten Weinen und Spirituosen.
  • The Wellington Hotel (aka "die welly") ist das alte Dorf Poststation, über die Straße vom Hafen. Einige Teile des Gebäudes sind 4 Jahrhunderte alt, aber die meisten Daten aus dem Jahr 1853, wenn Reisende auf den Bereich erhöht. Es wurde einst als Bos Castle Hotel, wurde aber nach dem Tod des Herzogs Wellington im Jahre 1852 umbenannt.
  • Der Napoleon Inn ist Boscastle älteste Pub (erbaut im 16. Jahrhundert) und ist auf dem Hügel an der Rückseite des Boscastle gesetzt. Es war ein Rekrutierungsbüro während der Napoleonischen Kriege. Der Vermieter kam mit Wellington zu Waterloo gehen und so hieß "Napoleon Mannes nach seiner Rückkehr - daher der Name seiner Kneipe.

Boscastle geht

Kurze Spaziergänge rund um Boscastle

  • Sie können entlang der rechten Seite des Hafens über die Hexen Museum entfernt auf dem Weg zu Penally Punkt, wo es eine hervorragende Aussicht auf den Hafen sind und sichern Sie das Tal.
  • Sie können zu Fuß den Fluss hinauf Valency durch den Wald zum Minster Church (etwa eine halbe Stunde). Sie können zu Fuß durch die Nebenstraßen von Minster Kirche in Boscastle einen Rundweg von etwa einer Stunde und einem halben (vorausgesetzt, Sie ein wenig zu stoppen, um Minster Church anschauen) erstellen. Die Tourist Info Center hat auch eine Broschüre (70p) beschreibt diese Wanderung mit vielen guten Informationen über die Geschichte und Tierwelt.
  • Wenn Sie entlang der linken Seite des Hafens zu Fuß kann man zu Fuß auf die Küste Weg zur Willapark Ausschau. Sie können einen Rundweg von etwa einer Stunde, indem Sie landeinwärts über Forrabury gemeinsam Kirche Forrabury und wieder hinunter in Boscastle (und stoppen bei einer Tasse Tee in Forrabury Kirche) zu schaffen.

Andere Boscastle Spaziergänge

  • Die Tourist Info Center neben dem Hafen hat eine Broschüre (für £ 1) für ein 3,5 Meile "Dorf trail", die viele Informationen über die Geschichte des Dorfes hat.
  • Die Tourist Info Center hat auch ein paar ausgezeichnete Flugblätter (50 oder 60p) für ziemlich große Rundwanderungen (6-8 Meilen) um Boscastle. Wie bei den anderen, sie haben einige interessante Informationen über die Geschichte von Orten entlang der Route.
  • Es gibt eine Schatzsuche für Boscastle

Kirchen in der Boscastle Pfarrei

Boscastle hat einige schöne alte Kirchen. Es gibt sieben in der Pfarrei, von denen zwei in Boscastle selbst sind. Die vier, die Funktion in den Spaziergängen von der Touristen Info Center sind:

  • Minster (St Merthiana der) Kirche in Minster Holz gesetzt - eine alte Waldgebiet in der Wertigkeit Tal, das kontinuierliche Wald Abdeckung hatten seit mindestens 400 Jahren. Die religiöse Stätte stammt aus 1500 Jahre Zeit der Kelten und Teile der Kirche heute zurück bis 1150. Es wurde ursprünglich als "Tolcarne ', die' rock Kapelle" bedeutet. Die Kirche wurde zweimal nach verfiel so gibt es einige Funktionen, die stammen aus der Tudor-Zeit und andere zu viktorianischen Zeiten sind restauriert. Im Frühjahr wird es von einem Teppich aus Narzissen umgeben. Achten Sie auf die mysteriöse geschnitzt Schere auf dem Turm Wand. Niemand weiß, warum sie da sind! ( mehr Infos )

  • Forrabury (St. Symphorian der) Kirche am Forrabury Gemeinsame in der Nähe der Klippen wurde ursprünglich vor über 900 Jahren gebaut und featured in der Poesie von JS Hawker als "silent Turm Bottreaux". Es hat keine Glocken, denn eine Geschichte erzählt, das Schiff mit ihnen durch einen freak wave wurde getroffen und ging kurz vor der Küste mit nur einem Überlebenden. In viktorianischen Zeiten der Hauptteil der Kirche wurde umgebaut und erweitert erheblich, aber die ursprüngliche normannischen Turm blieb erhalten. Es gibt Tee und Kaffee und einen Wasserkocher in der Kirche für durstige Besucher ( mehr Infos ).
    Eine mittelalterliche Form von Landbesitz namens "Stitch Meal '- -., Wo lange, geschwungene Grundstücke mit 1-2 Meter Gras dazwischen sind bepflanzt mit verschiedenen Kulturen Forrabury Gemeinsame in 42' Stiche 'unterteilt Diese Seite enthält weitere Informationen . Die Stiche sind am deutlichsten zwischen Ende März und Ende September. Über den Winter wird die Gemeinsame beweidet. Sie erreichen die Stiche über der Küste Weg von Boscastle, oder den Pfad aus Forrabury Kirche.
  • St Juliot Kirche auf der rechten Seite von der Straße von Boscastle um Crackington ausgeschildert. Es ist ein schöner Ort mit seiner Tür nach außen über das Tal. Es wurde von dem Schriftsteller Thomas Hardy (dessen Roman "A Pair of Blue Eyes" beschreibt den Bereich) renoviert.
  • St Michael & All Angels in Lesnewth ('New Court') ist ein wenig weiter aus Boscastle, ist aber in einer wunderschönen Lage, direkt neben einem tiefen einseitigen Strom, von einer alten keltischen Wegkreuz markiert. Die ursprüngliche sächsischen Kirche wurde gesagt, hier in der Senke gebaut werden, um sie von plündernden Wikingern auf dem Meer verstecken - aber sie fanden und plünderten es trotzdem. Leider nur noch wenig vom normannischen Kirche, die folgten, die heutige Kirche ist meist Victorian, dominiert von einem beeindruckend hohen 15. Jahrhundert Turm. Auf einer der Wände im Inneren ist ein schön beschrifteten Schiefer Gedenkstätte, mit einem geschnitzten Wappen.

Fotos von Boscastle auf Flickr

Weitere Informationen über Boscastle

Boscastle

Boscastle Harbour on the North Cornish coast
Boscastle Harbour from the cliffs
Boats in Boscastle Harbour
Harbour at high tide
Boats beached in Boscastle Harbour at low tide
Boats at low tide
Napoleon Inn in Boscastle
Napoleon Inn
Cobweb Inn in Boscastle
Cobweb Inn
The Strangles beach near Boscastle
The Strangles
Forrabury Church in Boscastle by the coast
Forrabury Church
Minster church in Boscastle
Minster church
Lesnewth church
Lesnewth church
The Celtic wayside cross at Lesnewth church
Lesnewth wayside cross
St Juliot church
St Juliot church
Path to St Juliot church
Path to St Juliot church

Boscastle is a small fishing village located on the North Cornish coast, just north of Tintagel. Boscastle is one of the few sheltered inlets on the North Cornish coast and therefore a likely landing point for tin traders of ancient times, possibly as far back as Phoenician traders in 2000 BC. The river also provided power for a number of mills which date back at least as far as the 12th Century. In more recent times, as well as being a fishing harbour, Boscastle was a small port (similar to the others on the north coast of Cornwall) importing raw materials such as limestone and coal, and exporting slate and other local produce. In Victorian times, as many as 200 vessels came each year, mostly from Bristol and South Wales.

In 1302 the name was recorded as Boterelescastel which meant "castle of the Botterels". It's possible this became shortened to bos because this was the Cornish word for dwelling ("bos-castel" would have been understood by Cornish speakers as "village with the castle" as the word kastell also existed in Cornish).

The site of Bottreaux Castle is located on the west side of the Jordan Valley in Boscastle, about half way down the old main road; there is a signposted path to the old castle site. Bottreaux Castle was the 12th century fortress of the de Botterells which included extensive dungeons. Very little apart from the mound now remains, as over the centuries the residents of Boscastle "reused" stones from the castle to build their houses, but it provides a good view point over the village and harbour.

The steep-sided valley of the river Valency forms a sheltered natural harbour at Boscastle. The two stone harbour walls date back to Elizabethan times, built in 1584. The outer breakwater was built in 1820, but destroyed in 1941 by a drifting mine and then rebuilt by the National Trust.

The harbour was very difficult to approach in a sailing ship and it was not safe for ships to enter under their own sail. On a ship's arrival, a boat with eight men, known as a "hobbler", would go out to tow them into the harbour, whilst men on the shore held the ship in the middle of the channel, using ropes.

There is a large car park with toilets, some shops and several pubs and a cafe on the harbour in a former pilchard cellar.

The Museum of Witchcraft is located in Boscastle, on the north bank of the river, close to the harbour. It's just past the Visitor's Centre and before the Harbour Light café. The 50 year old museum is the largest of its kind in the world. It was badly damaged by the flood in 2004 but has been fully restored.

The Boscastle flood in 2004

The steep Valency Valley acted as a funnel for the dramatic flash flood in 2004 that put Boscastle on (and nearly wiped it off) the map. Over 1.4 billion litres of rain fell in the course of 2 hours which is thought to have been caused by the Brown Willy effect, where the high tors on Bodmin Moor cause the repeated formation of rainclouds which blow along the prevailing wind and then dump their rain. Around 50 cars were swept into the harbour, the bridge was washed away and roads were submerged under 9ft of water. A total of 91 people were rescued in the largest peacetime rescue operation ever carried out in the UK.

Pubs in Boscastle

Boscastle has 3 pubs, each with lots of character:

  • The Cobweb Inn, opposite the car park - previously a wine cellar and flour store dating from the late 1600s, it has traditionally always had cobwebs hung from the roof beams. Apparently this was thought to keep flies off stored wines and spirits.
  • The Wellington Hotel (aka "the welly") is the old village coaching inn, across the road from the Harbour. Some parts of the building are 4 centuries old, but most dates from 1853 when travellers to the area increased. It was once called the Bos Castle Hotel, but was renamed on the death of the Duke of Wellington in 1852.
  • The Napoleon Inn is Boscastle's oldest pub (built in the 16th Century) and is on the hill at the back of Boscastle. It was a recruiting office during the Napoleonic wars. The landlord joined up with Wellington to go to Waterloo and so was called 'Napoleon man' on his return - hence the name of his pub.

Boscastle walks

Short walks around Boscastle

  • You can walk along right-hand side of the harbour past the witches museum along the path to Penally Point where there are excellent views of the harbour and back up the valley.
  • You can walk up the river Valency through the woods to Minster Church (about half an hour). You can walk down the back roads from Minster Church into Boscastle to create a circular walk of about an hour and a half (assuming you stop for a bit to look at Minster Church). The tourist info centre also has a leaflet (70p) describing this walk with lots of good info about the history and wildlife.
  • If you walk along the left-hand side of the harbour you can walk up onto the coast path to Willapark lookout. You can create a circular walk of about an hour by going inland across Forrabury Common to Forrabury Church and back down into Boscastle (and stop for a cup of tea in Forrabury Church).

Other Boscastle walks

  • The tourist info centre next to the Harbour has a leaflet (for £1) for a 3.5 mile "village trail" which has lots of information about the history of the village.
  • The tourist info centre also has a couple of excellent leaflets (50 or 60p) for fairly substantial circular walks (6-8 miles) around Boscastle. As with the others, they have some interesting information about the history of places along the route.
  • There is a treasure trail for Boscastle

Churches in the Boscastle parish

Boscastle has some beautiful old churches. There are seven in the parish, two of which are in Boscastle itself. The four which feature in the walks from the tourist info centre are:

  • Minster (St Merthiana's) Church, in a valley on the outskirts of Boscastle, is on a site which dates back 1500 years to Celtic times. It was originally known as "Tolcarne" which means literally "rocky hole" and has been interpreted as meaning a chapel made from rocks. Parts of the church there today dates back to 1150, built by William de Bottreaux. The church was restored twice after falling into disrepair, so there are some features that date back to the Tudor period and others to Victorian times. Look out for the mysterious carved scissors on the tower wall. No one knows why they're there! Suggestions include a trademark of the stonemason, or an homage to the wool trade which funded the church restoration. In early spring, the church is surrounded by a carpet of daffodils and wild garlic.

  • St. Symphorian's Church, on Forrabury Common above Boscastle, was originally built over 900 years ago and featured in the poetry of J.S. Hawker as "the silent tower of Bottreaux". According to legend, it has no bells because the ship carrying them was hit by a freak wave and went down just off the coast, with only one survivor. In Victorian times, the main part of the church was rebuilt and extended significantly, but the original Norman tower was left intact.

    Forrabury Common, overlooking Boscastle, can be reached via the coast path from Boscastle, or the path from Forrabury church. The Common is divided into 42 plots known as Stitches. This was a mediaeval form of land tenure called Stitch Meal, where long, curving plots of land with 1-2 feet of grass in between, are planted with different crops. The Stitches are most visible between late March and late September; over the winter, the Common is grazed.

  • St Juliot's Church is signposted on the right from the road from Boscastle to Crackington. The church is situated is a beautiful location with its door facing out across the Valency valley. Formerly there was a chapel on the site, dating back to mediaeval times. This was later replaced with a church with a tower dating from the 14th Century and south aisle from the 15th Century. The church was renovated by the author Thomas Hardy. The tower was in such a state of collapse that it needed to be entirely rebuilt, but the 15th Century aisle survived and now forms the nave and chancel.

  • St Michael & All Angels Church in Lesnewth is in a lovely location, just next to a deep-sided stream, marked by an ancient Celtic wayside cross. The original Saxon church was said to be built here in the dip to hide it from marauding Vikings at sea, but they found and pillaged it nonetheless. Sadly, little remains of the Norman church that followed; the present church is mostly Victorian, dominated by an impressively tall 15th century tower. On one of the walls inside is a nicely inscribed slate memorial with a carved coat of arms.

Photos of Boscastle on Flickr

More information about Boscastle