Boscastle

Boscastle Harbour, sur la côte nord des Cornouailles
Boscastle Harbour depuis les falaises
Bateaux à Boscastle Harbour
Port à marée haute
Bateaux échoués dans le port de Boscastle à marée basse
Bateaux à marée basse
Napoleon Inn à Boscastle
Napoleon Inn
Cobweb Inn à Boscastle
Cobweb Inn
La gourme plage près de Boscastle
La gourme
Forrabury Eglise à Boscastle sur la côte
Forrabury Eglise
Ministre église à Boscastle
Ministre église
Lesnewth église
Lesnewth église
Le calvaire celtique à l'église Lesnewth
Calvaire Lesnewth
Église St Juliot
Église St Juliot
Chemin de l'église St Juliot
Chemin de l'église St Juliot

La vallée encaissée de la rivière Valency forme un port naturel à l'abri Boscastle. En plus d'être un port de pêche, Boscastle était autrefois un petit port (semblable à beaucoup d'autres sur la côte nord des Cornouailles) d'importer du charbon et de calcaire et d'ardoise d'exportation et d'autres produits locaux.

Le Boscastle nom est dérivé de Bottreaux château, la forteresse du 12ème siècle de la Botterells de, dont il reste peu maintenant. Si vous marchez jusqu'à l'aller simple (ancienne route) de la rue, devant la poste et suivre un panneau juste après cela sur la gauche, vous pouvez aller jusqu'à un chemin d'accès au site du château ancien qui est au moins un bon point de vue sur le village et le port.

Il ya un grand parking avec des toilettes, des magasins et plusieurs pubs et un café sur le port, dans une cave ancienne sardine. Boscastle de 50 ans Musée de la Sorcellerie est le plus grand de son genre dans le monde. Il a été gravement endommagé par les inondations en 2004, mais a été entièrement restaurée.

L'inondation Boscastle en 2004

La vallée escarpée Valency a agi comme un entonnoir pour la crue spectaculaire en 2004 qui a mis sur Boscastle (et près de l'essuya) la carte qui est pensé pour avoir été causé par l' effet de Brown Willy . Plus de 1,4 milliards de litres de pluie sont tombés au cours de 2 heures. Près de 50 voitures ont été emportés dans le port, le pont a été emporté et les routes ont été submergées par 9 pieds d'eau. Au total, 91 personnes ont été secourues dans la plus grande opération de sauvetage en temps de paix jamais déployée au Royaume-Uni.

Bar à Boscastle

Boscastle dispose de 3 bars, chacun avec beaucoup de caractère:

  • L'auberge Cobweb , en face du parking - précédemment une cave à vin et un magasin de farine datant de fin des années 1600, il a traditionnellement toujours eu des toiles d'araignée pendaient aux poutres du toit. Apparemment, cela a été pensé pour éloigner les mouches hors vins et spiritueux stockés.
  • L'Hôtel Wellington (aka "le welly") est l'ancienne auberge du village de coaching, de l'autre côté de la route du port. Certaines parties de l'édifice ya 4 siècles, mais la plupart des dates de 1853, lorsque les voyageurs de la région a augmenté. Il était autrefois appelé le Château Hôtel Bos, mais a été renommé sur la mort du duc de Wellington en 1852.
  • L'Auberge Napoléon est le plus ancien pub Boscastle (construite au 16ème siècle) et est mis en place sur la colline à l'arrière de Boscastle. C'était un bureau de recrutement pendant les guerres napoléoniennes. Le propriétaire rejoint avec Wellington pour aller à Waterloo et a donc été appelé «l'homme de Napoléon à son retour - d'où le nom de son pub.

Boscastle marche

De courtes promenades autour de Boscastle

  • Vous pouvez vous promener le long du côté droit du port devant le musée des sorcières sur le chemin de Penally point où il ya une vue imprenable sur le port et sauvegarder la vallée.
  • Vous pouvez marcher jusqu'à la rivière Valency à travers les bois à la cathédrale Eglise (environ une demi-heure). Vous pouvez vous promener dans les petites routes de Minster Eglise dans Boscastle pour créer une promenade circulaire d'environ une heure et demie (en supposant que vous vous arrêtez un peu de regarder ministre Eglise). Le centre d'information touristique a également un dépliant (70p) décrivant cette promenade avec beaucoup de bonnes infos sur l'histoire et la faune.
  • Si vous vous promenez le long du côté gauche du port, vous pouvez marcher vers le haut sur le sentier du littoral au belvédère Willapark. Vous pouvez créer une promenade circulaire d'environ une heure en allant dans l'intérieur des terres Forrabury commune à Forrabury Eglise et vers le bas dans Boscastle (et d'arrêter pour une tasse de thé dans Forrabury Eglise).

D'autres promenades Boscastle

  • Le centre d'information touristique à côté du port dispose d'un dépliant (pour 1 €) pour une "piste de village" 3,5 mile qui a beaucoup d'informations sur l'histoire du village.
  • Le centre d'information touristique a également un couple de tracts excellents (50 ou 60p) assez importantes pour promenades circulaires (6-8 miles) autour de Boscastle. Comme pour les autres, ils ont des informations intéressantes sur l'histoire des lieux le long de l'itinéraire.
  • Il ya une chasse au trésor pour Boscastle

Églises de la paroisse Boscastle

Boscastle a quelques belles églises anciennes. Il ya sept dans la paroisse, dont deux sont à Boscastle lui-même. Les quatre qui disposent dans les promenades du centre d'information touristique sont les suivantes:

  • Minster (St Merthiana l') Eglise mis à Minster bois - une forêt ancienne dans la vallée de Valency qui a eu couverture forestière continue pendant au moins 400 ans. Le site religieux remonte à 1500 années Celtes et des parties de l'église là-bas la date du jour de 1150. Il a été initialement connue sous le nom «Tolcarne», qui signifie «chapelle rupestre. L'église a été restaurée à deux reprises après être tombé en désuétude il ya donc des caractéristiques qui datent de l'époque Tudor et d'autres à l'époque victorienne. Au début du printemps, il est entouré d'un tapis de jonquilles. Recherchez les ciseaux mystérieux gravés sur le mur de la tour. Personne ne sait pourquoi ils sont là! ( plus d'info )

  • Forrabury (Saint-Symphorien de) Eglise sur la commune Forrabury à proximité des falaises a été construite il ya plus de 900 ans et en vedette dans la poésie de JS Hawker comme «la tour silencieuse de Bottreaux". Il n'a pas de cloches parce que, dit une histoire, le navire les transportant a été frappé par une vague monstre et je suis descendu juste à côté de la côte avec un seul survivant. À l'époque victorienne la partie principale de l'église a été reconstruite et agrandie de manière significative, mais l'original tour normande a été laissée intacte. Il ya du thé et du café et une bouilloire disponible dans l'église pour les visiteurs assoiffés ( plus d'informations ).
    Forrabury commune est divisée en 42 «points» - une forme médiévale de la propriété foncière appelée «Repas Stitch '-. Où longtemps, courbant parcelles de terrain avec 1-2 pieds d'herbe entre les deux, sont plantés de cultures différentes Ce site a plus d'informations . Les points de suture sont les plus visibles entre fin Mars et fin Septembre. Durant l'hiver, la commune est pâturée. Vous pouvez joindre les points par le sentier côtier de Boscastle, ou le chemin de Forrabury église.
  • Eglise St Juliot est indiqué sur la droite de la route de Boscastle à Crackington. C'est un endroit magnifique avec sa porte vers l'extérieur à travers la vallée. Il a été rénové par l'auteur Thomas Hardy (dont le roman "A Pair of Blue Eyes" décrit la région).
  • St Michael & All Angels in Lesnewth («Nouvelle Cour») est un peu plus loin de Boscastle, mais il est dans un endroit magnifique, juste à côté d'un ruisseau profond face, marqué par une croix celtique en bordure de voie antique. L'original saxon église a été dit d'être construit ici dans le creux de la cacher Vikings en maraude à la mer -, mais ils ont trouvé et elle a licencié tout de même. Malheureusement il reste peu de l'église romane qui ont suivi, l'église actuelle est en grande partie victorienne, dominé par une tour du 15ème siècle impressionnante hauteur. Sur l'un des murs intérieurs est un mémorial ardoise bien inscrit, avec un manteau sculpté des armes.

Photos de Boscastle sur Flickr

Plus d'informations sur Boscastle

Boscastle

Boscastle Harbour on the North Cornish coast
Boscastle Harbour from the cliffs
Boats in Boscastle Harbour
Harbour at high tide
Boats beached in Boscastle Harbour at low tide
Boats at low tide
Napoleon Inn in Boscastle
Napoleon Inn
Cobweb Inn in Boscastle
Cobweb Inn
The Strangles beach near Boscastle
The Strangles
Forrabury Church in Boscastle by the coast
Forrabury Church
Minster church in Boscastle
Minster church
Lesnewth church
Lesnewth church
The Celtic wayside cross at Lesnewth church
Lesnewth wayside cross
St Juliot church
St Juliot church
Path to St Juliot church
Path to St Juliot church

Boscastle is a small fishing village located on the North Cornish coast, just north of Tintagel. Boscastle is one of the few sheltered inlets on the North Cornish coast and therefore a likely landing point for tin traders of ancient times, possibly as far back as Phoenician traders in 2000 BC. The river also provided power for a number of mills which date back at least as far as the 12th Century. In more recent times, as well as being a fishing harbour, Boscastle was a small port (similar to the others on the north coast of Cornwall) importing raw materials such as limestone and coal, and exporting slate and other local produce. In Victorian times, as many as 200 vessels came each year, mostly from Bristol and South Wales.

In 1302 the name was recorded as Boterelescastel which meant "castle of the Botterels". It's possible this became shortened to bos because this was the Cornish word for dwelling ("bos-castel" would have been understood by Cornish speakers as "village with the castle" as the word kastell also existed in Cornish).

The site of Bottreaux Castle is located on the west side of the Jordan Valley in Boscastle, about half way down the old main road; there is a signposted path to the old castle site. Bottreaux Castle was the 12th century fortress of the de Botterells which included extensive dungeons. Very little apart from the mound now remains, as over the centuries the residents of Boscastle "reused" stones from the castle to build their houses, but it provides a good view point over the village and harbour.

The steep-sided valley of the river Valency forms a sheltered natural harbour at Boscastle. The two stone harbour walls date back to Elizabethan times, built in 1584. The outer breakwater was built in 1820, but destroyed in 1941 by a drifting mine and then rebuilt by the National Trust.

The harbour was very difficult to approach in a sailing ship and it was not safe for ships to enter under their own sail. On a ship's arrival, a boat with eight men, known as a "hobbler", would go out to tow them into the harbour, whilst men on the shore held the ship in the middle of the channel, using ropes.

There is a large car park with toilets, some shops and several pubs and a cafe on the harbour in a former pilchard cellar.

The Museum of Witchcraft is located in Boscastle, on the north bank of the river, close to the harbour. It's just past the Visitor's Centre and before the Harbour Light café. The 50 year old museum is the largest of its kind in the world. It was badly damaged by the flood in 2004 but has been fully restored.

The Boscastle flood in 2004

The steep Valency Valley acted as a funnel for the dramatic flash flood in 2004 that put Boscastle on (and nearly wiped it off) the map. Over 1.4 billion litres of rain fell in the course of 2 hours which is thought to have been caused by the Brown Willy effect, where the high tors on Bodmin Moor cause the repeated formation of rainclouds which blow along the prevailing wind and then dump their rain. Around 50 cars were swept into the harbour, the bridge was washed away and roads were submerged under 9ft of water. A total of 91 people were rescued in the largest peacetime rescue operation ever carried out in the UK.

Pubs in Boscastle

Boscastle has 3 pubs, each with lots of character:

  • The Cobweb Inn, opposite the car park - previously a wine cellar and flour store dating from the late 1600s, it has traditionally always had cobwebs hung from the roof beams. Apparently this was thought to keep flies off stored wines and spirits.
  • The Wellington Hotel (aka "the welly") is the old village coaching inn, across the road from the Harbour. Some parts of the building are 4 centuries old, but most dates from 1853 when travellers to the area increased. It was once called the Bos Castle Hotel, but was renamed on the death of the Duke of Wellington in 1852.
  • The Napoleon Inn is Boscastle's oldest pub (built in the 16th Century) and is on the hill at the back of Boscastle. It was a recruiting office during the Napoleonic wars. The landlord joined up with Wellington to go to Waterloo and so was called 'Napoleon man' on his return - hence the name of his pub.

Boscastle walks

Short walks around Boscastle

  • You can walk along right-hand side of the harbour past the witches museum along the path to Penally Point where there are excellent views of the harbour and back up the valley.
  • You can walk up the river Valency through the woods to Minster Church (about half an hour). You can walk down the back roads from Minster Church into Boscastle to create a circular walk of about an hour and a half (assuming you stop for a bit to look at Minster Church). The tourist info centre also has a leaflet (70p) describing this walk with lots of good info about the history and wildlife.
  • If you walk along the left-hand side of the harbour you can walk up onto the coast path to Willapark lookout. You can create a circular walk of about an hour by going inland across Forrabury Common to Forrabury Church and back down into Boscastle (and stop for a cup of tea in Forrabury Church).

Other Boscastle walks

  • The tourist info centre next to the Harbour has a leaflet (for £1) for a 3.5 mile "village trail" which has lots of information about the history of the village.
  • The tourist info centre also has a couple of excellent leaflets (50 or 60p) for fairly substantial circular walks (6-8 miles) around Boscastle. As with the others, they have some interesting information about the history of places along the route.
  • There is a treasure trail for Boscastle

Churches in the Boscastle parish

Boscastle has some beautiful old churches. There are seven in the parish, two of which are in Boscastle itself. The four which feature in the walks from the tourist info centre are:

  • Minster (St Merthiana's) Church, in a valley on the outskirts of Boscastle, is on a site which dates back 1500 years to Celtic times. It was originally known as "Tolcarne" which means literally "rocky hole" and has been interpreted as meaning a chapel made from rocks. Parts of the church there today dates back to 1150, built by William de Bottreaux. The church was restored twice after falling into disrepair, so there are some features that date back to the Tudor period and others to Victorian times. Look out for the mysterious carved scissors on the tower wall. No one knows why they're there! Suggestions include a trademark of the stonemason, or an homage to the wool trade which funded the church restoration. In early spring, the church is surrounded by a carpet of daffodils and wild garlic.

  • St. Symphorian's Church, on Forrabury Common above Boscastle, was originally built over 900 years ago and featured in the poetry of J.S. Hawker as "the silent tower of Bottreaux". According to legend, it has no bells because the ship carrying them was hit by a freak wave and went down just off the coast, with only one survivor. In Victorian times, the main part of the church was rebuilt and extended significantly, but the original Norman tower was left intact.

    Forrabury Common, overlooking Boscastle, can be reached via the coast path from Boscastle, or the path from Forrabury church. The Common is divided into 42 plots known as Stitches. This was a mediaeval form of land tenure called Stitch Meal, where long, curving plots of land with 1-2 feet of grass in between, are planted with different crops. The Stitches are most visible between late March and late September; over the winter, the Common is grazed.

  • St Juliot's Church is signposted on the right from the road from Boscastle to Crackington. The church is situated is a beautiful location with its door facing out across the Valency valley. Formerly there was a chapel on the site, dating back to mediaeval times. This was later replaced with a church with a tower dating from the 14th Century and south aisle from the 15th Century. The church was renovated by the author Thomas Hardy. The tower was in such a state of collapse that it needed to be entirely rebuilt, but the 15th Century aisle survived and now forms the nave and chancel.

  • St Michael & All Angels Church in Lesnewth is in a lovely location, just next to a deep-sided stream, marked by an ancient Celtic wayside cross. The original Saxon church was said to be built here in the dip to hide it from marauding Vikings at sea, but they found and pillaged it nonetheless. Sadly, little remains of the Norman church that followed; the present church is mostly Victorian, dominated by an impressively tall 15th century tower. On one of the walls inside is a nicely inscribed slate memorial with a carved coat of arms.

Photos of Boscastle on Flickr

More information about Boscastle